Posted by: My Trips and Travels | February 29, 2012

Living Beyond the Walls of Intramuros

And the story is on.

I can still remember my first day at the university. I can still see how I looked and what I was wearing.  I went pass the gates of Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila and went to the registrar’s office to get my ID. It was the start of my 4 years, actually add another 2 years for my MBA.

My university life was the most exciting level for me. I enjoyed going to school, eventhough I would need to travel a full 2 hours. I like looking at the walls of Intramuros. I apprecite the dark-mossy texture of the walls. It’s old, dramatic and profound.  The very streets of Intramuros have a different feel into it. The atmosphere is calm, but you can sense the history of the people who lived during the time of Rizal and the other heroes of his time.  It became my second home and it was an honor to be educated within the walls that stood past battles and blood.

I hope we can build more “Intramuros.” It doesn’t just show our culture and distinct architectural styles, but it’s good to be reminded and surrounded by history. It makes us wonder and relive the passion of Filipinos for their country in those critical years. I believe, to see such would help us realize that we should be thankful of the freedom we have now and focus on what to do to maintain and cultivate the legacy they passed on to us.

Try to visit the walls.

 

Other sites:

My Daily Trips and Travels


Leave a comment

Categories